Glock Forum banner

PMC Bronze .40 Cal S&W Ammo - Anyone Here Used It?

11K views 25 replies 10 participants last post by  Ranger45 
G
#1 ·
My brother was able to get some boxes of this brand for $25.00 each/50 rounds today. I have never heard of it before. Is that good ammo?

#5 ·
Nope, just the local gun store that doesn't raise prices to gouge customers. They are one of the main firearms dealers in the area, use to supply police departments. this is taken directly from their website "In our loyalty to you, our over the counter prices have not been inflated capitalize on current market.". Went to another local gun store and they were selling .40 for $50/100, let's just say I won't be going back there.

G
#12 ·
Oh by the way, I noticed this ammo is 165 GR. The American Eagle ammo I used before was 180 GR. I am still a bit new at the GR thing, so how is the difference in GR going to affect the way the ammo works? I think what I am trying to ask is, what is the difference between 165 and 180?

#14 ·
Used to get it for $8-$9.00 a box.....

G
#15 ·
I got this information from another forum. The guy was replying to someone that asked the same question I did here. Is this answer true?

"Personally, I only shoot 165gr in .40. The 180gr bullet (which was originally designed for the 10mm's longer case) doesn't leave much room in the case for the powder, so a slight overcharge can lead to overpressure and blow up. It's rare, and it's unlikely to happen in factory loaded ammo, but it only takes once and I prefer not to risk it. Ammo makers make mistakes too.

Whatever you decide on for defense, you should try to find a practice ammo that has a similar load, so that you have some consistency between them. For instance, if your defense load is 165gr at 1050 fps, then try to find a practice load that's 165gr at 1050fps or as close as possible.