Future Glock owner from Virginia!

This is a discussion on Future Glock owner from Virginia! within the New Member Welcome Center forums, part of the Glock Information category; Hi all, Just wanted to quickly introduce myself. I'm relatively new to shooting and am especially new to handguns and Glocks. I have always been ...

Hi all,

Just wanted to quickly introduce myself. I'm relatively new to shooting and am especially new to handguns and Glocks. I have always been interested in guns and the sport of shooting, and I am finally making the plunge into my first firearm purchase in a few weeks. I have talked to a lot of people and have read online, and the only handguns I have ever fired are a Glock 17 & 19, gen3. I have my eye on either a G17 or 19, gen4. I was planning on buying one of them from a local gunshop (Nova Armament), priced around $550 I believe.

I should also add that I am scheduled to take a basic handgun safety/education course from the NRA in a few weeks to further my knowledge.

If anyone has any suggestions or advice to offer, please feel free! I'm looking forward to being a new Glock owner soon and am excited to continue learning more from all of you experienced ones out there!

RMD
    Sounds like you've got a good plan. Great choice in first pistol (I'd go with the G19 as it would be easier to carry) and training.

Will you be CC'ing?

Hi RMD - thanks for the reply!

I plan on CC'ing eventually...but I am currently focused more on getting comfortable with a handgun, as I am a complete amateur. For this reason, I have been told that the G17 would be the best choice because it is an accurate gun to get started shooting with and to build all of the fundamentals.

I'm torn though because I am also seeing people absolutely rave about their G19s, and being a guy fresh out of college, I am on a pretty tight budget so it would be nice to also buy a gun that I could carry to kill 2 birds with 1 stone. So many choices!!