Glock Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Will this affect performance or firing capability? Sorry, I'm new to this but absolutely LOVE the sport! Thank you for your assistance!

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Wipe it down, dry it off and lube per the manual. Everything should be OK.

What kind of cleaning fluid?

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
I assume you mean something like Hoppe's, shouldnt hurt anything just follow RMD's guidlines above.

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
Will this affect performance or firing capability? Sorry, I'm new to this but absolutely LOVE the sport! Thank you for your assistance!
some teasing and some good advice above. makers of gun cleaning products make these items so they won't harm any part of your gun. if not true they would put a warning on the product.

·
Registered
21,518 Posts
Glock has a tough finish on them unlike bluing which is an oxidation of the metal (before bluing it was browning...flintlocks and muskets). Bluing could be removed fairly easy with a piece of fine steel wool and some acetone (removing rust the wrong way). Tennifer (early Glock’s) is a hard coating and since it is a trade secret I would have to say it is an epoxy bonding process done through electro plating because of the thin very uniform coating

Reactions: Nimbus

·
Registered
4,767 Posts
What kind of "cleaning" fluid...? Brand name...?

·
Registered
33 Posts
OK. This has obviously become a HAZMAT situation! Follow my instructions to the letter:
1) Put the gun in an approved container. (A FedEX box will adequate.)
2) Seal it and attach an appropriate address label. Shipping will paid on delivery.
3) Mark the label "cda926". This is a special code that designates a secret safe disposal site.

Thank you for your prompt cooperation!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·