Glock Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

So with all the stories I have read about a new AWB as well as a "high-capacity" magazine ban being discussed by Congress, I have started to contemplate about purchases I should make in the near-future in anticipation of such a ban. As far as I know all pre-ban magazines having over 10 rd capacity would be grandfathered but I wanted to get opinions from older and experienced members of the forum on what kind of prices and availability of pre-ban mags I could expect to see being sold. Seeing as I am only in my early-twenties, I have no real knowledge of the availability or price of >10rd mags following the 1994 ban so I thought I should ask here first. I enjoy the 9mm and especially love my Glock 17 Gen 4 so knowing that if a ban did occur and there were over-priced magazines available at least it would make it easier to swallow.

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
That question is hard if not impossible to answer as we have no way of knowing how many preban (if there is one) mags are out there in stock. Also, inflation has changed since the Clinton fiasco.
My suggestion is to buy a few stock 17 round mags now, and as you will see prices have already risen. A good guess would be that prices will double or triple from current prices if a 10 round limit is enacted. Good hunting.

·
Registered
21,518 Posts
if we only had a crystal ball life would be so easy

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
I'll play through a couple of observations I saw in the first pre ban, and after. Chime in if this jars your memory and especially if you saw something different.