Glock Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is probably the dumbest question ever but since I am not experienced I have to ask. Can I use the same American Eagle .40 S&W Ammo I use for target practice for self defense as well?

What will the main difference be?

Thank you all ahead of time.

· Registered
1,019 Posts
I think you mean everyone gets at least two.

Target ammo can be used for defensive purposes. US troops in combat use what I would call target ammo against the enemy. However NATO doctrine is to wound not kill. If you kill you take that one soldier out of the fight. If you injure you remove at least one other soldier who provides aid to the injured. I don't necessarily agree but it's not my doctrine.

Secondly the Geneva convention disallows hollow points in battle because they are engineered to be devastating.

There are threads that discuss ammo for self defense. Do a search.

· Registered
21,525 Posts
Yes but standard range ammo will lose its jacket upon impact and lose bullet weight. If you are trying to make it through an arm or hand into the main cavity to hit a Vidal organ you want a bonded bullet or a core locked one

· Registered
1,019 Posts
I think too much emphasis is placed on bonded or core locked bullets. Says the guy who carries bonded hollow points. Bonded bullets were made to defeat hard barriers while retaining their jacket for maximum bullet weight retention and bullet integrity when hitting the target after the barrier. While bone is a hard barrier the real intent was windshield glass and plate metals. Both of which is more of a concern for LE as opposed to civilian self defense.

My concern with anyone using target/FMJ ammo for self defense is the perforation and over penetration capacity without enough internal trauma in the target to stop whatever action precipitated the use of deadly force.

· Registered
3,865 Posts