Glock Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please excuse any ignorance on my part as i'm new to glocks, and normally don't customize my guns that much. I found a website that has different mag floor plates and slide covers. My question is this... Is there a risk with "rockyourglock" parts being crappy? I'd like to customize my 26 a little, but i don't want to buy the glock equivalent of tapco and screw up my carry weapon. Is there a brand(s) for glock parts that i should avoid? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
For maximum reliability, stick with stock parts. That's the official line and I'm toeing it :)

Edit: just re-read your post and saw you said it was your carry piece. Definitely keep it stock. It's fine to replace the stock sights (mine has XS Big Dots), but I'd advise against "cusotmizing" any other parts on it.

·
Registered
21,518 Posts
I have to disagree with others; aftermarket parts are fine if you stick with reliable mfg.’s. There is only so much you can do with Glocks but from what I read and have done to my own I haven't had any problems yet. One thing is stay away after market mags; they are cheap and the steel is to flexible

·
Registered
241 Posts
I will only say that a slide plate either effects function or doesn't. Make sure it doesn't slide off (locks in place when you install it). Magazine floor plates after they are installed I suggest you take a fully loaded mag and throw it on the carpet a few time to make sure it will never come off (if you aren't sure). I'm not big into cosmetic stuff but if you are then nothing wrong with that. If you have a buddy that is an armorer to install these good. If not I really suggest you get these also...
GTUL Magazine Tool 9MM, .357SIG, 40S&W and .45GAP - Glock parts, accessories, and custom Glock refinishing at Rockyourglock Store
Glock Disassembly Tool - Glock parts, accessories, and custom Glock refinishing at Rockyourglock Store