Glock Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everybody! here's my story: until this past week, the only semi-auto pistol i had ever fired was a ruger .22 i owned yrs ago. i have lots of experience (non-expert exprience, that is) with revolvers. on my job for the past 15 yrs, i have carried a S&W 686. when i was a correctional officer yrs ago, for duty outside the prison, we had rugers chambered for .38 sp. i loved those rugers we used to carry - if you ran out of bullets, it would make an excellent club cause it was solid as an anvil. i'm going to watch around and buy one of those someday.

then i was a unit armorer for an aviation national guard unit and we had revolvers for the pilots: rugers, S&W "airweights" and some very disapointing colts - everybody hated those colts cause they didn't work well. before i knew any better, once i issued one of those colts to the CO because it was really light and i thought he would appreciate it. and he got to the firing range with it and it acted up. and that was the last time i sent him a colt! (and i realize lots of folks like colts - it might just be that these we had were worn out. or maybe it was a case of having a really dumb armorer, cause i sure as heck didn't know what i was doing)

so this past week we turned in our 686's and drew a glock 22 in .40. (see my ignorance: are all glock 22's chambered for .40? if it's the same pistol chambered for .45, does the model designation change?) then we were on the range getting trained and then qualifying. what i saw on the range these 2 and a half days really impressed me. 1st, of 20 of us, 16 qualified the 1st time through the course - if you knew what a bunch of old dweebs we are, you'd know how impressive that is!