Glock Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's up guys. New member from Chicago. I recently got my FOID and purchased a Glock 17 Gen 4 today, I hope these next 3 days go by quickly. I am a gun noob, but I can certainly tell it will be a new hobby. Looking forward to some range time. I will be reading from the forum in the meantime.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
one quick question, when lubricating the glock at the connector and trigger bar. Do I have to use oil or would something like TW25B grease work?

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I'd buy a small bottle of gun oil (I use Breakfree LP) for the 3-2-1 lubing of the Glock. Glocks don't need more than 6 drops per cleaning and my bottle has lasted me years!

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
Dont skimp on gun oil, I use CLP Breakfree and cant remember when I bought the bottle I have now.
Welcome to the Forum !

·
Registered
21,518 Posts
Welcome and what they said and may I add you don't want to over oil or grease. it has a tendency to attract dirt and burn/unbunrt gun powder

·
Registered
960 Posts
Welcome from Alabama! Sorry to hear that you live in the worst possible place to be a handgun owner! If anyone needs concealed carry, it's folks from Chicago! Always thought the FOID thing was an absolute joke!! :)

Reactions: ankle.brambledom

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 · (Edited)
welcome to the forum from the free states :)
I hear ya, at least they let me keep a gun :cool:

in anticipation of my glock (2 more days) I have bought Ballistol and TW25B milcomm grease. I was planning on cleaning with ballistol and then greasing the slide contacts and other parts with the grease, do I still need some gun oil?. I have read that Glocks run better on the dry side.