Glock Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was told not to fully load the magazing because the spring will compress and you will have problems. It was said to short load it by one round. Any truth to this or a bunch of BS.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Lots of people wondering about that, I hope not because all mine are loaded up, Only issue I have with all rounds in the mag is that it takes more pressure to get the mag in, So i just started to carry with one less in the mag and carry an extra mag sometimes.. I hear from others that the springs are meant to be compressed and that its the compression and depressiont would wear out the spring, but Im no expert, just reporting what I've heard.. On another note, I have had a mag since 2003 full and it was the only one that didnt have a FTF when I had an issue at the range a few weeks ago. It was a pierce mag too. Im sure someone with more experience can tell you more detail then m

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
that is someone personal opinon which they are entitled to. however i have sig, glock, smith and ruger all loaded fully and never had a problem. the manufacturers know there guns the best and if it was meant to short load they would state that in the owners manual. load em up dla!

·
Registered
4,767 Posts
Should be fine...some folks will load -1, more so for ease of loading the mag...I've done that too... If you're concerned, go -1...

·
Registered
21,518 Posts
Fully loading a mag is fine, one bullet will not make a difference. What does make a difference is unloading and then reloading. The constant compressing and decompressing a spring will make it break with time or lose its ability to spring back.

Think of it as a piece of coat hanger; you can bend it and then striation it out again but do it too many times and it snaps. The spring is the same but because of the gentle twists it is allow to be compressed and recompressed over and over

·
Registered
3,865 Posts