Glock Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie trying to determine what ammo should I use for personal defense. I've read many post on this web site about the pros of using both the Hornady Critical Defense and the Speer Gold Dots, both of which I can find in my LGS. I'll be using my G26 Gen4 as my primary weapon and feel that more than likely, if needed, it would be used outdoors instead of at home. I think that I'll be going with the Gold Dots, but my concern is in close distances should I use the 124 or 147 grain ammo. I haven't shot either one but I've read that some members use the 147's during the winter because of the heavy clothing. Could I use the 147's year round? Or are the 124's more accurate in close quarters? Right now I'm using Lawman's 115 grain which I use at the firing range. I need feedback from you guys out there, to help me decide which ammo/grain to choose. Thanks

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
First - I'd suggest buying your Gold Dots online (sgammo & ammunitiontogo are two good places) as you can buy them in 50-round boxes for just slightly more than the 20-round box.

Get the 124gr +p, practice with it, use it in all your 9mm Glocks, and don't worry about switching to a heavier weight in the winter. Just my opinion.

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
Choice of ammo debates could go on forever. Some like the lighter grains for speed, some the heavier for impact effect. IMHO any quality hollow point ammo that is well placed will do the trick. When I buy ammo I go generally with the HP with the highest velocity.
I am sure you will hear other opinions, but remember, shot placement is the key, a hit with a quality ammo is better than a miss or near hit with a 'Zombie' load.
As far as your Lawman 115 gr you are using at the range, I sure would not want to be hit with any of that.

Reactions: rowabi

·
Registered
2,109 Posts